Sunday 6 October 2019

Rally - Scots win in Wales

Great news from the National event at Wales Rally GB where the Scots continued their winning ways. John  Wink and Neil Shanks won the rally in their Hyundai i20 R5 with Alan Dickson and Martin Forrest finishing 3rd in their Evo9.  Edinburgh born Tony Jardine was 6th just ahead of 7th placed Simon Hay and Calum Jaffray. As for the 'auld stager' Jim McRae, he was  12th overall with long time co-driver Pauline Gullick in a Porsche 911.

Congratulations to them all and continuing a great tradition started in 2013 when  Euan Thorburn and Paul Beaton won the rally with Mike Faulkner and Peter Foy winning in 2014 and 2015. Bruce McCombie and Michael Coutts won in 2016 and last year Andrew Gallacher and Jane Nicol got the Scots back on track after missing out in 2017 (Bruce and Michael were 2nd!).

Sadly a distinct lack of pics and info from the National as our roving reportering big pal, Jaggy wisnae there, but there is this:

1, John Wink/Neil Shanks (Hyundai I20 R5) - 1:32:24.0     

2, Dylan Davies/Llion Williams (Subaru Impreza) - 1:33:54.3 (+0:01:30.3)

3, Alan Dickson/Martin Forrest (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) - 1:37:21.6 (+0:04:57.6)

4, Chris Powell/Jim Lewis (Talbot Sunbeam) 1:38:01.5 - (+0:05:37.5)

5, James Munden/John Leigh (Subaru Impreza) 1:39:06.0 - (+0:06:42.0)

6, Tony Jardine/Dominic Tobin (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) - 1:39:47.9 (+0:07:23.9)

7, Simon Hay/Calum Jaffray (Mitsubishi Evo6) - 1:40:10.0 (+0:07:46.0)

12, Jimmy McRae/Pauline Gullick (Porsche 911 RS) - 1:44:57.6 (+0:12:33.6)

No comments:

Post a Comment