Sunday 6 November 2011

Rally - Edwards Reigns in Kingdom

Bruce Edwards and Jim Smith won the Kingdom Stages Rally in their Darrian T9, but victory wasn’t as assured as their 48s winning margin might suggest. Running them close all day till the final stage were Quintin Milne and Lisa Watson first time out in a new EVO9, but a wrong direction on the final split of the final stage dropped them to 34th place.

In a surprise second place overall was the wee Citroen C2 R2 of Gareth White and Callum Atkinson who snatched the place by 12 seconds from the Citroen Saxo of Chris and Katherine Singer. Neil Thompson just missed out on third place in his Nova simply because he was too slow on his first run of the day. That’s what you get for missing out on your Weetabix!

Previous Crail winners Peter Taylor retired with a blown manifold and Bob Grant with a broken gearbox while Staurt Baillie ruined a good run with too much corner cutting!

But perhaps the biggest battle of the day was in the Ecosse Peugeot 205 Challenge where Sean Robson and Tom Hynd went at it like two terriers with a stick. Tom had taken 13 seconds out of the youngster on the penultimate test to go into the final stage just two seconds behind him. They stopped the clocks within 3 seconds of each other, but in Sean’s favour. He had taken the class AND the Championship title by 5 seconds on the final stage of the final round of the series.

1 Bruce Edwards/Jim Smith (Darrian T9) 56m 25s
2 Gareth White/Callum Atkinson (Citroen C2R2 Max) 57m 31s
3 Christopher Singer/Katherine Singer (Citroen Saxo Kit Car)  57m 25s
4 Neil Thompson/Gavin Lloyd (Vauxhall Corsa) 57m 34s
5 Alan Wallace/Darren Robertson (Mitsubishi Evo 6) 57m 50s
6 Des Campbell/Alex Orr (Peugeot 206) 58m 47s
7 Euan Mackay/Michelle Falconer (Peugeot 106) 59m 22s
8 Kieran Renton/Johnny Millar (Ford Fiesta ST) 59m 40ss
9 Allan Brodie/Cameron Fairbairn (Ford escort MkII) 59m 47s
10 Willie Lawrie/Shane Crozier (Mitsubishi Colt) 59m 55s

No comments:

Post a Comment