Wednesday 10 February 2016

Rally - BTRDA on Saturday

Euan Thorburn
Euan Thorburn and Paul Beaton are the top seeds on this weekend's Cambrian Rally (13th Feb), the opening round of the 2016 RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Series. Winners of this event two years ago and going on to win the BTRDA title that year, Thorburn and Beaton are nevertheless up against it this coming Saturday. Ranged against them are four former BTRDA Champs, two runners-up and a third place finisher!

Euan will debut his new Peugeot 208 T16 R5, but number 2 seed Hugh Hunter also has a new car, a Fiesta R5, while Steve Perez is back behind the wheel of his Focus WRC.

At the 'GoRally' evening last week, Euan confirmed that his primary target this year is the new-look British Rally Championship and the Cambrian is being contested purely to get some miles on the car: "We had a test at Sweet Lamb a couple of weeks back, but it was so wet and so muddy we didn't really get the chance to find the car's limits," said Euan, "so we've got another test booked this Friday and then do the Cambrian on Saturday. Hopefully it will be a bit drier."

But what were his first impressions: "I think it might be faster than anything I've driven so far, it felt really good despite the weather."

He's also done a deal for the season with Pirelli Tyres adding: "We haven’t competed for seven months now and we are in a new car this year so we want to get as many miles in before the first BRC round as possible to build the confidence up.”

The rally starts in Llandudno at 8.00 am on Saturday morning with nine stages totalling 45 miles, and the first car is expected back from 3.30 pm.

Other Scottish crews (and a couple of our pals from the north of England) include:
1, Euan Thorburn/Paul Beaton (Peugeot 208 T16 R5) B14,
4, Stephen Petch/Michael Wilkinson (Ford Fiesta R5+,) B14
9, Wayne Sisson/Peter Foy (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) B13
22, Barry Groundwater/Sean Donnelly (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) B13
39, Kevin Robertson/Murray Strachan (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII) B13
44, Keith Riddick/Mairi Riddick (MG ZR) 1400S
51, Brian Watson/Caroline Will (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo) B13
63, Alex Curran/Heather Grisedale (Vauxhall Corsa) B10
83, Scott Sloan/David Sloan (Vauxhall Corsa) 1400S

No comments:

Post a Comment