Thursday 5 January 2012

Rally - 2012 Blast Off

Brrrr! It wis awfy cauld last year!
Winners of last year’s Grant Construction Stages Rally at Knockhill, John and Jim Rintoul head the entry for this year’s event which gets the Scottish rallying season underway this coming Sunday, the 8th of January.

Border Ecosse Car Club have got over 40 entries for the season-opener and it looks as though there will be some new cars getting an airing.

The first stage will start at 8.30 am and it should be all over by 4 pm with the cars being flagged off at 30 second intervals.

Hopefully, conditions this weekend will be better than the white-out which greeted crews last year, but having said that, it was a great spectacle and most of the crews enjoyed it.

The entry fee is £8 (£4 conc./U12 free) for spectators but only a fiver if you book in advance on the Knockhill website.  However, when I tried it this morning there was an answering machine message which said the circuit was shut until Friday the 6th of January!

Top ten seeds are listed below but there’s a full entry list and more info on the website at: 

Entry List:
1 John Rintoul/Jim Rintoul (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 8)
2 Michael Glendinning/Paul Hughes (Subaru Impreza)
3 Jim Sharp/TBA (Subaru Impreza)
4 Dale Robertson/Paul McGuire (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9)
5 Doug Brydon/Dave O’Brian (Subaru Impreza)
6 Stuart Baillie/Dave Cranston (Subaru Imprez)
7 Alan Gardiner/Robin Nicholson (Ford Escort MkII)
8 Stuart Walker/Caroline Will Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9)
9 Scott McMinn/Steven Marshall (Subaru Impreza)
10 Mark McCulloch/Mairi Riddick (Proton Satria)

No comments:

Post a Comment