Saturday, 7 March 2015

Rally - Thorburn wins

The Scots had an excellent day out in Englandshire today, with  Euan Thorburn scoring his second ever victory on the Malcolm Wilson Stages Rally with brand ‘new’ co driver Richard Cooke. Driving Paul Benn’s 02 Focus, the pair finished 46 seconds clear of Paul Bird and Aled Davies in their 07 version. 

Rounding off the podium top three were David Weston and Kirsty Riddick in third place in their Subaru Impreza WRC ahead of Stephen Petch and Ian Windress in the Ford Fiesta R5+. 

Andrew Gallacher and Jane Nicol had another excellent run, second time out in the Fiesta Evolution, finishing fifth ahead of Wayne Sisson and Neil Shanks in the Evo10 in sixth place. 

But the drive of the day must surely have been from young Ryan Weston. With Mark McCulloch on the Notes, they finished 25th o/a and 1st in class in their 1400cc Proton Satria. 

Not too far behind were Greg and Chris McKnight in their Mk2 finishing 28th and 1st in class with Allan McDowall and Gavin Heseltine rounding off the top 30 overall with another class win in their Escort RS1800. 

In 36th and 1st H2 car were Andy Kelly and Roger Herron in the Mk1 just ahead of Freddie Milne and Martin Forrest (37th) in their Evo7. 

Keith and Mairi Riddick finished 42nd and scored a class win in their MG ZR with Bob Adamson and Dick Wardle first time out in the RS1800 for a long time in 50th place ahead of Steve Bannister and Louise Rae (52nd). 

Completing the good news were Caroline Carslaw and John Duke finishing 70th and scoring the B11 class win in their Ford Fiesta. 

Sadly, the north-east’s Kevin Robertson and Murray Strachan didn’t make it out of SS6 (of 8) in their Evo8.

(Donnie MacDonald and Andrew Falconer did not start this morning).

No comments:

Post a Comment