Sunday, 10 April 2016

Rally - Thistle & Shamrock

Three Scots in the top six of this joint ERC and BRC event. Given the quality of the entry, that's not  a bad result, not bad at all. David Bogie and Kevin Rae finished sixth overall on the Circuit of Ireland, with Kirsty Riddick co-driving Jonathan Greer to fifth place overall. Alex Laffey finished 24th in his Fiesta R5 and young Blair Brown didn't. He had problems with his clutch on the first day and this was fixed before Saturday morning re-start but the problem persisted, they think due to the pressure plate itself being damaged. Euan Thorburn didn't get far either retiring on the first day with differential problems. 


1. Craig Breen (IRL)/Scott Martin (GBR) Citroën DS3 R5….1h54m16.1s
2. Kajetan Kajetanowicz (POL)/Jarosław Baran (POL) Ford Fiesta R5….+10.6s
3. Alastair Fisher (GBR)/Gordon Noble (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5….+56.4s
4. Josh Moffett (IRL)/Gordon Noble (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5….+1m40.1s
5. Jonathan Greer (GBR)/Kirsty Riddick (GBR) Citroën DS3 R5….+2m07.0s
6. David Bogie (GBR)/Kevin Rae (GBR) ŠKODA Fabia R5 ….+2m55.6s
7. Stephen Wright (IRL)/James Fulton (IRL) Ford Fiesta R5….+4m36.1s
8. Tom Cave (GBR)/James Morgan (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5….+4m51.1s
9. Joseph McGonigle (IRL)/Ciaran Geaney (IRL) ŠKODA Fabia S2000….+5m52.2s
10. Jarosław Kołtun (POL)/Ireneusz Pleskot (POL) Ford Fiesta R5….+6m26.2s

Meanwhile in the National event, Donnie MacDonald and Andrew Falconer scored an exceptional result, winning the BRC National Rally Cup with fifth place overall and won their BRC class walking away with 50 points having played their ‘Joker’ (double points)! Does that mean two jokers in the one car, or three? Anyway, Donnie now leads the BRC National series heading to the Pirelli Carlisle Rally later this month. Not bad for someone who says he doesn't like tarmac!

Another excellent result was Ross Marshalls' 11th place overall in his Mk2 up against some of the best Mk2s and best tarmac drivers this side of the Atlantic Ocean. Lee Hastings was 28th in his Subaru while John Morrison retired his Mitsubishi on the 9th test. As for Thaarique Fazal he got as far as the 12th test before the Vauxhall Nova had had enough. Aberdeen co-driver Gary MacDonald scored a 46h place finish with his driver, Stephen Murray in their Peugeot 106 

Top Eleven Overall:
1, Derek McGarrity/Barry McNulty (Ford Fiesta WRC) 1:56:49.0
2, Ollie Mellors/Ian Windress (Proton Satria S2000) +1:08.9
3, Wesley Patterson/Johnny Baird (Ford Escort Mk2 RS) +1:42.1
4, Camillus Bradley/Crawford Henderson (Ford Escort Mk2) +3:28.3
5, Donnie MacDonald/Andrew Falconer (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX) +3:54.1
6, Alastair Cochrane/Ian Kidd (Ford Escort Mk2) +4:04.6
7, Declan McNaughton/Sean Hayde (Ford Escort Mk2) +4:12.1
8, Jamie Jukes/Dave Williams (Mitsubishi Mirage) +4:55.8
9, Fintan McGrady/Ray Fitzpatrick (Ford Escort Mk2) +5:29.2
10, John Devlin/John McCarthy (Talbot Sunbeam) +6:13.
11, Ross Marshall/Dave Robson (Ford Escort Mk2) +6:28.0

No comments:

Post a Comment