Saturday 6 September 2014

Rally - Thorburn wins Merrick

Euan Thorburn and Paul Beaton won the sixth round of the ARR Craib Scottish Rally Championship in Wigtown today. The  Ford Focus duo scored a 35 second victory over Mike Faulkner and Peter Foy on the GWF Energy Merrick Stages Rally run through the forests of Gentrool and southern Ayrshire.

David Bogie salvaged third place as Jock Armstrong lost out on a podium finish on the final stage: "We punctured a rear tyre on a hairpin in that last stage," said Armstrong, "and the car just slid off. We only lost a few seconds but David (Bogie) got past us and that was it."

Dougal Brown scored his best result to date with fifth place just ahead of the top Group N runner Dale Robertson.

Steve Bannister was top 2WD in 9th place with Alasdair S Graham top 1600 in 11th position while Scott MacBeth made the top 20 in his 1400 Nova winning the class and finishing 19th o/a.

Leaderboard after 6 (of 6) stages:
1, E Thorburn, 40m 38s
2, M Faulkner, 41m 13s
3, D Bogie, 41m 15s
4, J Armstrong, 41m 46s
5, D Brown, 43m 12s
6, D Robertson, 43m 21s
7, F Wilson, 43m 37s
8, C McMiken, 43m 57s
9, S Bannister, 44m 30s
10, J Rintoul, 44m 47s

No comments:

Post a Comment