Sunday 14 August 2022

Rally - Grampian roundup

Why walk when you can drive?  

Keith Cronin and Mike Galvin were the crew to beat on the Voyonic Grampian Forest Rally. With 5 fastest times from 6 stages, they cleared the field by 21 seconds although Osian Pryce and Noel O'Sullivan ran them close never allowing the winners to relax. Completing the podium line-up were Ruairi Bell and Max Freeman but James Williams and Dai Roberts were pressing them hard to finish just 8 seconds adrift in 4th place. Jason Pritchard and Phil Clarke completed the BRC line-up just ahead of the Scottish Championship crews.

Taking maximum KNC Groundworks Scottish Championship points were David Bogie and John Rowan and things were tight here to with David Henderson and Chris Lees only 17 seconds behind at the finish. Storming through to snatch third were Hugh Brunton and Drew Sturrock as John Wink's Hyundai suffered turbo trouble in the final stage and he and Neil Shanks dropped to 10th place  behind Alan Carmichael and Arthur Kierans.

Mark McCulloch is continuing to get to grips with the Proton as he and Michael Hendry were 11th ahead of 12th placed Angus Lawrie and Paul Gribben scoring top Challenger points. in 12th place.

It was good to see both Willie Paterson and Tom Hynd back at Crathes before the day was out although each had a few cracked ribs by all accounts. Tom was released from hospital after a complete check-up in the afternoon and Willie was released that evening. Mind you some folk were less than kind, trying to make them laugh and then watch them wince when they laughed. Such cruel 'friends'!

Michael Binnie and Claire Mole retired on the first stage when the Lancer slid off the road, Jock Armstrong and Cammy Fair retired the Subaru with no oil pressure, Bruce McCombie and Michael Coutts lost out on a top six placing when the Focus failed them in SS3, and Garry Pearson’s BRC title hopes took a dive when he and Dale Furniss left the road on the penultimate stage.

( Brian Ross took the fotie, thanks Brian )

( Full two page report in Thursday's Motorsport News - and more in the online mag later )


1 Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin (Volkswagen Polo) 39m 12s

2 Osian Pryce/Noel O'Sullivan (Volkswagen Polo GT R5) +21s

3 Ruairi Bell/Max Freeman (Skoda Fabia R5) +29s

4 James Williams /Dai Roberts (Hyundai i20 R5) +1m 12s

5 Jason Pritchard/Phil Clarke (VW Polo R5) +1m 38s

6 David Bogie/John Rowan (Ford Fiesta Rally2) +1m 46s

7 David Henderson/Chris Lees (Ford Fiesta Rally2) +2m 05s

8 Hugh Brunton/Drew Sturrock (Ford Fiesta R5) +2m 35s

9 Alan Carmichael/Arthur Kierans (Hyundai i20 R5) +2m 49s

10 John Wink/Neil Shanks (Hyundai i20 R5) +3m 01s


No comments:

Post a Comment